The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King: Book 2 of the Nightborn Duet (Crowns of Nyaxia #2) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King: Book 2 of the Nightborn Duet (Crowns of Nyaxia #2) By Carissa Broadbent Cover Image
$19.99
Find us on Bookshop.org to order!

Description


From the New York Times bestselling author Carissa Braodbent, comes The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King, the gutting second installment of the Crowns of Nyaxia series, full of heartbreak, redemption, blood intrigue and heart-pounding action.

Love is a sacrifice at the altar of power.

In the wake of the Kejari, everything Oraya once thought to be true has been destroyed. A prisoner in her own kingdom, grieving the only family she ever had, and reeling from a gutting betrayal, she no longer even knows the truth of her own blood. She’s left only with one certainty: she cannot trust anyone, least of all Raihn.

Raihn’s own nobles are none too eager to accept a Turned king, especially one who was once a slave. And the House of Blood digs their claws into the kingdom, threatening to tear it apart from the inside.

When Raihn offers Oraya a secret alliance, taking the deal is her only chance at reclaiming her kingdom–and gaining her vengeance against the lover who betrayed her. But to do so, she’ll need to harness a devastating ancient power, intertwined with her father’s greatest secrets.

But with enemies closing in on all sides, nothing is as it seems. As she unravels her past and faces her future, Oraya finds herself forced to choose between the bloody reality of seizing power—and the devastating love that could be her downfall.

Reading Order:
The Serpent & the Wings of Night
The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King

About the Author


Carissa Broadbent has been concerning teachers and parents with mercilessly grim tales since she was roughly nine years old. Since then, her stories have gotten (slightly) less depressing and (hopefully a lot?) more readable. Today, she writes novels that blend epic fantasy plots with a heaping dose of romance. She lives with her husband, her son, one very poorly behaved rabbit, and one perpetually skeptical cat in Rhode Island.

Praise For…


Praise for The Ashes & the Star-Cursed King:

"Broadbent builds realistic and gripping tension as Raihn and Oraya navigate the roles of rivals, lovers, and potentially co-rulers... There’s plenty here to sink one’s teeth into." – Publishers Weekly

Praise for the Crowns of Nyaxia series:

“Fans of dark romantasy won’t want to miss this.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[A] haunting, action-packed political fantasy with a doomed romance at its center, full of heartbreak and intrigue.”– Library Journal, starred review

“Danger, intrigue and a hell of a lot of blood are splashed across the pages of Carissa Broadbent’s gripping fantasy romance” – Bookpage

"A heart-pounding, ultra-slow-burn romance." – Bustle

"Slow burn that pays off" – Vulture, "12 Romantasy Authors to Know"

"Carissa Broadbent's The Serpent and the Wings of Night has all the fun of A Court of Thorns and Roses, but it will also appeal to Twilight fans." – Insider

"This suspenseful, unputdownable novel is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games — with a fantastical vampire twist!" – Woman's World

"If you are a fan of dangerous fantasy worlds, bloodthirsty vampires, swoon worthy romance and a completely terrifying deadly competition, The Serpent and the Wings of Night is going to be a book you will love." – Book Briefs

"Unputdownable!" – FIRST for Women



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250343161
ISBN-10: 125034316X
Publisher: Bramble
Publication Date: November 19th, 2024
Pages: 608
Language: English
Series: Crowns of Nyaxia